Christmas crafts

November 2017

For the past few weeks, I have been a little preoccupied, to say the least, making crafts with my mum to sell at the village Christmas market. I remember feeling a bit let down by last year’s Christmas markets which weren’t exactly festive, just lots of stalls selling expensive handbags, homemade chocolates, conserves, pottery and plants. After a quick tour of the aisles, I left feeling not so merry, with not even a glass of vin chaud in sight to lift my spirits. I was not going to let it happen again. This year, our Christmas market preparations started back in September, when my auntie introduced us to Posca. These all-surface, water-based Posca pens have allowed me to unleash my creativity and express myself through vibrant colour. And for my canvas…wood, porcelain, slate, glass, I’ve tried the lot! Take a look:

While I’ve been busy painting pebbles, my mum has been making wreaths, knitting snowmen, decorating wine bottles, dressing candlesticks…the list is endless. It is an awful lot of hard work, for what might be very little profit, but we have been enjoying ourselves, getting in the Christmas spirit and spending some quality mother-daughter time together. Compolibat Christmas market is being held on Sunday 10th December…I’ll let you know how we get on.

Obviously juggling all this crafting with my English lessons has left precious little time for anything else. The garden looks most untidy and the freezing temperatures have meant we have been indoors with the fire blazing all day long. Our two steres of wood, delivered locally, might not even see us through to Christmas at this rate!

Still, we are all in good health and good spirits. Let the Christmas countdown commence…

One thought on “Christmas crafts

  1. Some wonderful ideas, I especially like the framed pebbles and the fairy doors.
    You should try making soap, its not too difficult and once you find your market customers keep coming back.
    I had to look up steres, If its any consolation we use about 15 in a year, although that is our only source of heat.

Leave a comment